Softies for mah homies

Sorry for that (lame) title!

Some of the first softies I made were adapted from this wonderful free Wee Bunny pattern from Wee Wonderfuls, and they were gifts for or requests from friends. Since those friends like cats (and dogs) more than bunnies, I decided to adapt the pattern — which was easy, since all I did was change the shapes of the ears and tails.

I’ve made several over the course of the past year. I think they turned out great, if not entirely perfect (due to my lack of skill). I actually developed callouses on my fingers from hand sewing these, because some of the felt materials I used were quite stiff and tough to sew through by hand. I broke several needles, even (where to buy tough ass hand sewing needles, I wonder?).  But I did have fun making these, and I loved how my friends appreciated my efforts.

The first kitties I made from the Wee Bunny pattern. I simply changed the shape of the ears and embellished them with other details. I used button nips for eyes, and embroidered the other details on the faces. The whiskers and tails are made from felt.

The first kitties I made from the Wee Bunny pattern. I simply changed the shape of the ears and embellished them with other details. I used button nips for eyes, and embroidered the other details on the faces. The whiskers and tails are made from felt.

Made this wee kitty for my friend's birthday. I used the likeness of her cat, Dawnee. I also included a small frog. because she likes frogs. I used this super easy Purl Bee pattern for the frog: http://www.purlbee.com/purl-frog/

Made this wee kitty for my friend’s birthday. I used the likeness of her cat, Dawnee. I also included a small frog. because she likes frogs. I used this super easy Purl Bee pattern for the frog: http://www.purlbee.com/purl-frog/

This tri-colored kitty was for another friend on her birthday (yup, these two celebrate their birthdays together. It's become a tradition. I always mix up the dates of their birthdays because of it). I think she really liked it =^_^=

This tri-colored kitty was for another friend on her birthday (same birthday celebration as the first friend. It’s become a tradition. I always mix up the dates of their birthdays because of it). I think she really liked it =^_^=

I was able to give Al (artistmonk) her wee kitty last year in early October. I wasn’t able to take proper shots before giving it to her, but I did get some at the coffee shop where we met up.

Al wanted a Russian blue cat. When I was sketching the design, I remembered a comment about the first kitties I made -- that they looked like matrushka dolls. Well, since the Russian blue is from Russia, I thought I'd give Al's wee kitty her own little matrushka :)

Al wanted a Russian blue cat. When I was sketching the design, I remembered a comment about the first kitties I made — that they looked like matrushka dolls. Well, since the Russian blue is from Russia, I thought I’d give Al’s wee kitty her own little matrushka.

I’ve procrastinated in finishing the latest of these (procrastinating on a project that was started to procrastinate something else…). This was partly because I was trying to figure out a way to make sewing on the bottom part of the softie easier. Looking at the Russian blue wee kitty, she didn’t “sit” properly (you couldn’t see the little kitty matrushka properly). But I did eventually figure out a way that works for me.

A much "cleaner"bottom. This is actually the most challenging part of the pattern, I think--but I finally found an easier way to do it. I did a quick running stitch along the bottom of the edges and pulled the thread to gather the fabric to make the bottom rounder, then secured it with a loose knot. I also did the same for the circle that's suppose to fit on the bottom (similar to making a fabric yo-yo). You can then secure it to the bottom using slip stitches.

A much “cleaner”bottom. This is actually the most challenging part of the pattern, I think–but I finally found an easier way to do it. I did a quick running stitch along the bottom of the edges and pulled the thread to gather the fabric, making the bottom rounder, then secured it with a loose knot. I also did the same for the circle that’s suppose to fit on the bottom (similar to making a fabric yo-yo). You can then secure it to the bottom using slip stitches.

When a friend asked if I could make her a cat for a little girl, I knew I had the perfect fabric for it -- a sakura (cherry blossom) print. So I thought it would be cute to make a pink cat to match the fabric. To the question "Are there pink cats?" - well, yes, kind of: the hairless kind :)

When a friend asked if I could make her a cat for a little girl, I knew I had the perfect fabric for it — a sakura (cherry blossom) print. So I thought it would be cute to make a pink cat to match the fabric. To the question “Are there pink cats?” – well, yes, kind of: the hairless kind.

The Wee Bunny pattern adapted into a puppy. He's supposed to be a beagle ^_^

The Wee Bunny pattern adapted into a puppy. He’s supposed to be a beagle ^_^

The only in-progress photo I took:

The pattern pieces all cut out and ready. The printed fabric was a bit too flimsy especially compared to the felt, and the difference in the weight of the materials made it a bit difficult to work with. So I decided to line the printed fabric with felt as well.

The pattern pieces all cut out and ready. The printed fabric was a bit too flimsy especially compared to the felt, and the difference in the weight of the materials made it a bit difficult to work with. So I decided to line the printed fabric with felt as well.

This orange tabby is for another friend, inspired by his mischievous cat Siopao (formally known as Schopenhauer) -- who is actually an offspring of my own cat. I haven't given the wee kitty to my friend yet. When I asked him what accessory he wanted on his softie, he said a whip would be appropriate. I used faux leather from an old bag for the whip's handle.

This orange tabby is for another friend, inspired by his mischievous cat Siopao (formally known as Schopenhauer) — who is actually an offspring of my own cat. I haven’t given the wee kitty to my friend yet. When I asked him what accessory he wanted on his softie, he said a whip would be appropriate. I used faux leather from an old bag for the whip’s handle.

Finished these just before the holidays. But I redid them when I figured out how to make their bottoms "cleaner."

Finished these just before the holidays. But I redid them when I figured out how to make their bottoms “cleaner.”

Siopai the wee kitty looks really mischievous here!

Siopao the wee kitty looks really mischievous here!

I’ve only just now noticed that the latest ones I made don’t have whiskers. But they’re still cute, methinks n_n

I just need to send the pink cat and beagle via courier to my friend. I actually want to see her reaction when she gets them, but I said I’d ship them instead, so I could try out shipping items (part of my research into selling some of my stuff in an online shop — something I’ve been dwelling on for some time now.) But of course, since these were adapted from a free pattern, I won’t be selling them.

Even though I’m starting to experiment with my own patterns and designs, I ‘ll probably make more of these in the future – maybe make versions of my cat and our family dog. The pattern is easy enough for a beginner, but at the same time its challenging and fun because of the many possibilities in embellishing and personalizing the softies made from the pattern. It’s a great way to use up scraps of print fabric, too. You can view the gallery of wee bunnies that other crafters have made on flicker here.

Thanks for looking! =^_^=

Leave a Reply

