Christmas crafting (plus a few goodies from the trip down South)

So I had been sick the entire week before Christmas. It started with a scratchy feeling in my throat, which I noticed right after watching the live action movie of Samurai X with my brother and mom (awesome movie, by the way!). And then on top of that I caught another bug which escalated to a few days of nasty cough and fever.

It’s one of the “pitfalls” of working from home on graveyard shift – compromised immunity. And since I rarely leave the house, I haven’t developed the necessary defenses against colds and flus, so I’m more susceptible when I do go out and mingle with crowds.

A lot of Christmas chores/crafting/plans have been thrown off by my sickness. But I did manage to finish most of my Christmas ornaments, and the little Christmas crafts I sent to my workmates. But before showing you those crafts, I just wanted to share some of the goodies I brought home from Davao/GenSan/Sarangani.

My favorite by far are the organic guava and passionfruit jellies and the mangosteen preserves. I didn’t buy the durian jelly because I was worried no one would eat it at home. And the best way to enjoy these jellies/preserves?

Ice cream!

Ice cream!

Mixed in the passionfruit jelly with plain old vanilla ice cream

Mixed in the passionfruit jelly with plain old vanilla ice cream.

A great pairing!

A great pairing!

perfect combo 2

Great jellies/preserves. Never liked guava jelly, but this one was exceptional.

Great jellies/preserves. Never liked guava jelly, but this one was exceptional.

I also bought civet coffee or cat poop coffee. It’s actually pretty good — it’s smooth and subtly aromatic. And best of all, even if you make a strong cup, there’s no sour-y aftertaste that you sometimes get from strong coffee. This was expensive, though– about Php 700 (or roughly $20) for this jar.

Civet coffee from Mt. Apo (not Bukidnon, as I had written in a past blog).

Civet coffee from Mt. Apo (not Bukidnon, as I had written in a past blog).

These were "harvested" from the wild. No cruelty to the civet are associated with this coffee ^_^

These were “harvested” from the wild. No cruelty to the civet are associated with this coffee ^_^

By the way, another souvenir from the trip:

The bruise above my knee. Got it when I fell as I was running to board the ferry from Samal Island back to Davao City. Took this about three days after arriving home.

The bruise above my knee. Got it when I fell as I was running to board the ferry from Samal Island back to Davao City. Took this photo about three days after arriving home.

It was much uglier and nastier a few days before, with lots of purple colouring. Fortunately I kept rubbing it with extra virgin coconut oil, infused with chili (I used the brand Tai Chi liniment — good stuff!) and within another week the bruise was gone. EVCO and chili oil are great for getting the blood circulating again, so I figured it would get rid of the bruise quickly — and it did.

Anyway, on to my Christmas crafts!

I made several felt ornaments — felt snowmen, peppermint candy, Christmas mittens, and gingerbread people:

A snowman ornament, ready to be finished.

A snowman ornament, ready to be finished.

Gingerbread people

Gingerbread people

Making the felt gingerbread people

Making the felt gingerbread people

Gingerbread peeps finished!

Gingerbread peeps finished!

Snowmen finished!

Snowmen finished!

ornaments

Christmas mittens and peppermint candy ornaments!

I also made Christmas elves. I named them Tinsel, Mistle, Holly and Eggnog:

Christmas elves in progress

Christmas elves in progress

Tinsel

Tinsel

Mistle. Also, not Link.

Mistle. Also, not Link.

I finished Holly and Eggnog earlier.

I finished Holly and Eggnog earlier.

Tinsel and Mistle, all ready

Tinsel and Mistle, all ready!

The whole gang!

The whole gang!

On the Christmas tree

On the Christmas tree.

Don't be afraid of the candle! It's a fake, LED candle.

Don’t be afraid of the candle! It’s a fake, LED candle.

Holly on the tree. My mom added that glittery stuff on her hair.

Holly on the tree. My mom added that glittery stuff on her hair.

Our Christmas tree for this year.

Our Christmas tree for this year.

But of course the cutest Christmas elf was none other than Max!

Max Liam the Xmas Elf!

Max Liam the Xmas Elf!

It was hard to take photos of him, as he kept running around with his toys. And he refused to be carried and cuddled. A most moody Christmas elf, for sure.

P1050927

A smile rarely caught on camera n_n

I also finished the Christmas ornaments I was going to give to my workmates. I sent old fashioned Christmas cards to them. Too bad that the ornaments won’t make it by Christmas, but technically the holidays extend til January 6 (or the second Sunday of January, I think)  for the Niños Inocentes holiday, which commemorates the children killed by order of King Herod when he heard the future King of Kings was born to replace him. A macabre holiday, actually.

Anyway, the ornaments I made were inspired by the Philippine parol, or Christmas lantern, which symbolizes the star of Bethlehem. You can see large and colorful versions of these throughout the country, and I thought it would be a nice, unique ornament to make for my non-Filipino workmates.

Parol in progress

Parol in progress

xmas card parol

xmas card parol 2

xmas card carollers

carollers

Xmas card holidays

I had wanted to make a couple more Christmas decorative items, i.e. small table top felt Christmas trees, but I just ran out of time and steam. Maybe next year.

But all in all it was a fun Christmas Eve (even if I had to work).

HAPPY CHRISTMAS, everyone! ^_^

Leave a Reply

