Brain Slugging

August is turning out to be a pretty busy month. A lot of people I know are celebrating birthdays, which is well and good but I’m a little ashamed to say I miss out on most of them.

Anyway, an impromptu meet-up at the house of friends turned into a belated celebration for another friend. I dropped by Gem and Marc’s place to have Marc look at Aiieee!, my long dormant laptop (which he managed to turn on. Yes, he has a way with the laptop ladies). Dell, who celebrated his birthday during the second week of the month, dropped by as well.

Marc, having his way with Aiiieee! the Dormant Laptop (well, not anymore! Yey!)

Having no ready gifts, I was glad to have been fooling around with my own version of a brain slug stuffie. Brain slugs are from the Futurama universe, and Dell is a huge Futurama fan (my friends and I all are). So, I gave Dell my first prototype of the brain slug stuffie as a gift:

Left: My Brain Slug Version 1.0 Right: Brain slug from Futurama

It’s made from felt using a simple pattern for a half-sphere (a circle with six equidistant darts). I drew a splatter shape and traced and cut this onto felt to make the base.

I actually didn’t search the internet for pics of the brain slug and worked from memory. The stuffie didn’t turn out accurate — it needs to be longer and a little more oval, and the eyes need to be rounder. So I will have to revisit this project to make one that’s more accurate.

Here’s Dell modeling the Brain Slug:

The many faces of the braindead

From Left to Right: Braindead Innocence, Braindead Couture, Braindead Classic

As you can see, the base is too stiff and lays straight out instead of “hugging” the head. Still trying to figure this one out — maybe sew a dart in the middle of the base? Also I should’ve attached a clip or some elastic to make the slug stay on the wearer’s head.

Maybe I can make another brain slug right before Halloween – it would make a really easy Halloween costume.

One thought on “Brain Slugging

  1. I do not even understand how I finished up right here, however I believed this submit used to be great. I don’t understand who you are however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger for those who are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

